The Last Chronicles of Belle

I find myself reeling at the mouth of depression and looping for life.
Aloft spaces in the cunning wind, steaming towards cyclones of blurness,
Outpouring, dementing, blinding, tumbling.
Chocking in madness.
Skinned, marooned.
Darkness dresses me in majestic garments,
It echoes to the horizon laps and covers the slithering valleys.
My life has known bitterness and love runs at the sight of me.
See, I was young and inexperienced at sharing.
I never knew how to love her enough.
Smiles retreat into filtering shadows,
Silver glares smear the ground with haunting images.
Dawn scares misery but only scatters it around me,
Thoughts rinse my mind with loud brimstones,
My soul stills and madness overlaps at each shore!

 

There was light and beauty.
She was the flesh that covers the gods,
The gentleness of words, calm – still whispering from a distance.
She was the silence in the blowing wind,
The roar in still waters and the queen- muse of my soul,
How intertwined?
I constructed glowing radiant veils of springs,
Wrought her dreams upon the pine trees in the domain of love unblemished.
In meadows of her vernal repose, I marveled at the movement of her feet.
I worshipped her, understanding her themes.
She was considerate but possibly the thread she had on me diminished,
And on my soliloquies I weeped on the shoulders of unrequited love.
I partake in my journeys, keeping her close but watching her go.
Its the only way I know how, oh earth – she was so admirable,
But I’ll always know, I was young and unable to love her enough!

© Eddy Ongili

Leave a Reply

